It’s So Hard To Say Goodbye (And My Guest Post!)

In my job as a career counselor, I (along with other bloggers) often link the job search and networking to dating. College students can understand this analogy.

And just like networking is similar to courting,  leaving a job is a lot like a break-up. I recently gave notice at my current university after five great years. This is the first time I have changed jobs for no other reason than a new opportunity. The two previous resignations were expected — I was moving cities and I was starting a brand new career path.

This move is the same career field, just a different type of position at a new university. My colleagues and supervisors have been so supportive of this opportunity, for which I am eternally grateful. And like any nervous dumper fumbling for the right thing to say when announcing their goodbye, I heard myself resorting to a variation of some of the classics:

  • I wasn’t actively looking for this to happen. It just did.
  • It’s not anything you did, it’s me.
  • This just feels like the best thing for me at this time.
  • You’ll find someone else.
  • I hope we can keep in touch and stay friends.

Unlike a break-up conversation, however, I meant every one of these things — no one more than staying in touch. Leaving my work family is the toughest part about all of this.

I’m going to write more about this transition in the coming weeks, but in the meantime, check out my guest post at Balance in Me about finding and keeping balance in times of change. I was excited for the chance to one again contribute to this site and share with a new community of readers.

What are some of your favorite cliché break-up lines? Does this translate to work situations?

9 responses to “It’s So Hard To Say Goodbye (And My Guest Post!)

  1. CONGRATS Caryn!!!! This is such exciting news!! I understand the bittersweet feelings of moving into something new and leaving something good behind. Hopefully it will be all worth it!

  2. Congrats!!! I want to hear more about it!

  3. Thanks ladies!!

  4. I really am so excited for you and this great new opportunity. You’re right…it’s totally a breakup. Everything about it is like crushing a poor boys heart. Love your list of “it’s not you, it’s me” lines. So when is your first day as a Comet? 🙂

  5. Congrats on your new job! Where are you going? I honestly think those types of “break-ups” are the best — when you’re not actively looking and fate just steps in. You know it’s right. Can’t wait to hear more!

    • Thanks Leah! I’m excited… nervous… then excited again! I agree, it happened very naturally, so that’s always reassuring. I am staying in Dallas, just moving from a private university to a public institution. Though still a college environment, it will definitely be very different and I’m looking forward to that!

  6. Pingback: To The Left, To The Left | Balance Overload

  7. Pingback: A Freshman Again | Balance Overload

What Are You Thinking?

