New Year Jitters

I was a little greedy and took an extra day off work this holiday break. My colleagues are back in the trenches today, but I knew that I wouldn’t be ready to come back so I attempted to prolong the inevitable return with an additional day.

I’m not sure it was the best idea.

Sure, I’m finishing up some errands, sitting at a coffee shop working on my blog, and when I’m done, I’m going home to DO NOTHING but catch up on my DVR (something I have yet to do this break). It all sounds perfectly relaxing, no?

But instead, the day has an anxiety cloud hanging over it. I’ve had such a wonderful holiday break, but I feel now like there is a countdown clock in my head to 6 a.m. tomorrow and its “tic-toc” sound is quite loud. Let me be clear, I have a great job that I enjoy and I work with wonderful people — this has nothing to do with job satisfaction and for that, I’m grateful. I think it is just about having a break. The novelty of a lifestyle that is so different from your normal routine. I’m worried that going back to reality will mean the end of these peaceful feelings.

But I have control over this, right? So I’m going to look back (via my less-than-spectacular photography skills) on a few fond memories of the break and how I can maintain these good vibrations when normalcy comes a-knocking tomorrow.

What I was feeling: Warmth and coziness in the picturesque holiday setting of Ohio.

How to keep it going: Well, I’m not doing a snow dance. I prefer to only visit the cold. But spending time with JB’s family was comforting and my own family is all within 10 minutes of where I live. It’s easy to take this proximity for granted. Perhaps a little more time spent with all of them in 2011 is in order.

What I was feeling: I mentioned in an earlier post how I look back on my college days and remember them as the least stressful times of my life. While I received some very honest feedback from that blog leading me to believe that perhaps I have extra-strength rose-colored glasses, when I had the chance on New Year’s Day to cheer on my alma mater in my hometown at the TicketCity Bowl, it was exhilarating to sing the fight song, see the band, and feel the purple pride among the crowd. We didn’t win, but it didn’t matter.

How to keep it going: I guess I could donate to my school. *pondering this* Ok, I’ve thought of something else. The real happiness of this day was the camaraderie among the Wildcat fans — even more so given how outnumbered we were playing a Texas school with 55,000 local alumni as opposed to our 2,000. And I do believe we cheered louder. Consequently, I would like to be a more active member (or at least a member) in the local alumni association this coming year. Being around people with whom you share a common thread — whether it’s a school, a love of movies, or the sick desire to do something crazy like run a marathon — can be a great way for adding some new activities to your routine.



What I was feeling: I’d like to end this look back with pizza. But not just any pizza, Chicago-style Lou Malnati’s pizza, as displayed above by JB and his oven mitt. We (but not so much of me) cooked this up, along with some black-eyed peas for good luck, after the bowl game. Besides feeling satiated in a way only cheese can do, I felt so excited that we had nothing to do but eat this pizza and watch that other team in purple make Texas proud. Falling asleep on the couch at 8:30 p.m. also didn’t hurt.

How to keep it going: Should be pretty simple, if I can only remember that it’s not necessary to schedule something every weekend night.  I feel selfish and guilty when I don’t make plans with friends, like I’m wasting an opportunity to catch up and develop those relationships. But man, that pizza at home tasted GOOD!

I could continue with this stroll, but I can’t believe how long this post has become. Besides, I think I’m ready. The “tic-toc” sound has lowered. The to-do list is completely checked and the Google Reader is empty. My mind should be prepared to enter back into reality.

Or maybe I need just one more day…

Have you taken the plunge and headed back to work? Did you survive? Assuming you did, what’s on deck for 2011?

8 responses to “New Year Jitters

  1. Oooh, I had the sense that you weren’t here today! Lucky girl! I loved seeing your pictures from the break – they all looked so perfect… And WHERE DID Y’ALL GET THAT PIZZA?! Did you mail-order it (like a bride)?! You’ve given me yet another thing to add to my to-do list. I miss that stuff like crazy sometimes. Mmmmm…

    And, I’m proud to disclose to you, we watched Love Actually on Saturday night. I wondered what all the craze was about and indeed, it’s a great movie. 🙂

    So I did take the plunge and came back to work today. However, even though my alarm didn’t go off at all and I woke up an hour late, I was proud to only be 10 minutes late. I didn’t realize that our office opened 30 minutes later than normal today, so in fact I was 20 minutes early! Go figure. But I am surviving, yet feeling like the past week and a half never happened. 😦

    Happy new year to you and JB… Here’s to a smashing 2011!

    • I’m so glad you liked Love Actually — I’m not sure I can wait until next holiday season to watch it again. I might have to host a spring/summer femmes viewing 🙂

      And yes, the pizza was delicious and mail-ordered! We just had a cheese one and added toppings. I miss it already.

      Happy New Year to you too — talk to you AT WORK tomorrow… :/

  2. I also took an extra TWO days off of school (Hebrew class) and work here in Israel. Shhhhh!!! I felt it was the right thing to do since they have NO holiday break here at all! No Christmas break and no New Year’s Eve to celebrate. With no holiday to relax, I took it into my own hands 😉 I figure it’s OK to be selfish every once in awhile!

  3. I woul into the boss’s office on Thursday and said I would not be there on Friday to give myself some vacation as NO ONE was working :). I survived the first day back but it was still hard to focus as it’s one of my last five there. The end.

    Also, I think one of my happy places is the yoga studio. When I am anxious or just need to slow down (even if I am sprinting in there) having someone tell me to breathe for an hour or so just makes me HAPPY!

    XO,
    Rach

    • Thanks Rach! I’m so excited for your new opportunity!

      I’m actually thinking about trying out some yoga, the breathing might do me good. I’m going to try On Demand first before heading to a real studio. But I’m glad you have a calming happy place!

  4. I so hear you! As I dragged myself out of bed today, I wished I’d given myself one more day. One day to relax and enjoy the calm while everyone else is weathering the storm. Yet you’re so right; it’s a double-edge sword because of the ticking alarm clock too. Anyway, nice post! You summed up perfectly what I felt going back to work today!

    • Thanks Leah! I think we’ll always feel like we could use “one more day”…. at some point, I guess we just fall back into the routine. I’ve been at work now for 1.5 hours and vacation is already a faint memory – oh well! Happy New Year.

What Are You Thinking?

